My Drugs & SymptomsDrugsDrugs By ConditionTreatments
Please support our site!
 User Reviews |  Add Review |  Search Reviews Drug Search
Welcome to DoubleCheckMD.com!
You have entered 0 Drug(s) and 0 Symptom(s)
Add drug to Evaluate

Search Reviews

Enter drug name- enter one drug at a time, by typing at least 3 letters of the drug name and select the appropriate drug from the list; then enter the next drug.

 
Enter condition name - the condition is the reason you are taking the drug, which could be a disease such as "diabetes" or a symptom such as "joint pain". Enter your condition and select from the list shown, then enter the next condition.
   
     
 
 
 
     
 

Search Result for simvastatin

See Most Frequent User Reported Side Effects for simvastatin



- please click on the red flag to report a post that is off topic or inappropriate.   Results 1 - 20 of 67
Drugs Dose Duration Condition Side Effect (severity) Comment Age Gender Created Abuse
Zocor (simvastatin) 20 mg  
High cholesterol
Neuropathy Progression stops when medication discontinued, but does not go away. 59 Male 2009-12-07 15:46:18.407
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

simvastatin 20 mg 5 years
High cholesterol
Taking simvastatin for over 5 years, in the last 9 months have had ocasional swelling of lips, tongue and face, then 3 months ago also started having hives. 53 Male 2009-12-01 14:56:11.047
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

ezetimibe-simvastatin  
High levels of LDL ("bad") cholesterol
I have been taking this drug for less than a month and I have been broke out with a rash on my truck, back, legs and arms. It itches and almost burns when you sit down.. 2009-12-01 04:28:13.953
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

Zocor (simvastatin)  
Crestor (rosuvastatin) 5mg 3 months
High cholesterol
Abnormal buildup of bile due to blockage of the "bile ducts" or liver problems
Elevated liver blood tests - SGOT/AST AND SGPT/ALT
Abnormal liver blood tests
  58 Female 2009-11-29 00:58:52.86
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

simvastatin 20 MG 3 years
High cholesterol
  55 Male 2009-11-27 23:33:16.813
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

simvastatin 40mg 7 days
High cholesterol
Vivid, frightening and bizarre nightmares each night for the 7 nights drug was taken. Advised by Doctor to stop taking them. 77 Female 2009-11-27 09:20:27.78
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

Zocor (simvastatin) 4 per day 6 years
Chronic arthritis (long-lasting joint inflammation)
  48 Male 2009-11-18 19:01:08.577
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

simvastatin 20 30 days
High cholesterol
  37 Female 2009-11-15 19:36:51.813
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

methotrexate 2.5 8 days
folic acid 1 1 days
simvastatin 40 1 days
oxaprozin 600 2 days
vitamin B12 (cyanocobalamin) 1000 1 days
Nexium (esomeprazole) 40 1 days
Rheumatoid arthritis
Severe insomnia
  Male 2009-11-06 08:14:27.42
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

simvastatin 40 4 years
High levels of LDL ("bad") cholesterol
I am not able to cool down despite taking 100 mg Thyroxine 63 Female 2009-11-03 14:00:32.077
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

Flomax (tamsulosin) 0.4mg 7 days
warfarin 5mg 5 days
furosemide 20mg 7 days
potassium chloride 20mg 7 days
simvastatin 40mg 7 days
amlodipine-benazepril 5mg 7 days
Metoprolol Succinate ER (metoprolol) 25mg 7 days
Sore gums
High blood pressure
Overgrowth of gum tissue
Gum problems
  86 Male 2009-11-01 22:15:50.483
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

bisoprolol 10mg 5 years
lisinopril 40mg 1 years
simvastatin 10mg 5 years
metformin 2550mg 5 years
acarbose 300mg 5 years
glimepiride 20mg 15 years
Cardiomyopathy (disease of the heart muscle)
Diabetes
Significant decrease in blood pressure (hypotension)
Insomnia and other sleep problems
Blood pressure changes
Disruption of sleep cycle - increased awakenings
Frequent nighttime urination
I have ICD implanted 3 months ago. After the procedure, doctor advised to increase dosage of lisinopril to another 20mg, since then, I have experienced all these symtoms. I wonder if the dosage is too much for me. 45 Male 2009-10-18 03:53:44.343
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

warfarin 2.5 mg 1 days
furosemide 40 mg 2 days
digoxin 0.25 mg 1 days
lisinopril 5 mg 1 days
simvastatin 40 mg 1 days
carvedilol 6.25 mg 2 days
glimepiride 2 mg 1 days
Diabetes
Heart complications
Congestive heart failure (symptoms may include shortness of breath, swelling of the legs, weight gain, shortness of breath worsened by lying down, awakening from sleep short of breath, dizziness, consusion, sweating)
Distortion of taste/abnormal taste
  62 Male 2009-10-03 09:57:25.187
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

simvastatin 80mg 3 weeks
High cholesterol
dosage increase from 40mg to 80mg caused severe vertigo,dizziness, faintness, particularly upon rising in the morning
return to 40 mg alleviated the symptoms
51 Female 2009-10-01 18:18:48.11
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

Inderal LA (propranolol) 40mg 4 years
Effexor XR (venlafaxine) 300mg 3 years
Viagra (sildenafil) 250mg 3 days
Ecotrin (aspirin) 40mg 4 years
clonazepam .5mg 3 years
simvastatin 40mg 4 years
Garlic (garlic) 250mg 2 years
omega 3 fatty acids-doxycycline (doxycycline-omega 3 fatty acids) 250mg 2 years
Bipolar disorder (psychiatry diagnosis with rapidly changing moods - from depression to abnormal mood elevations)
High cholesterol
Irregular/abnormal heart rate
Itching
Problems involving sexual drive/performance
Headache
Joint pain
  36 Male 2009-09-23 04:58:39.89
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

simvastatin 40 3 months
High cholesterol
High total cholesterol levels
Hospitalized for 7 days, analgesic 6 hourly for 5 days.
No gall stones evident on US or CT, awaiting endoscopic ultrasound.
44 Female 2009-09-15 20:13:36.453
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

Vytorin (ezetimibe-simvastatin) 10/20 1 days
High total cholesterol levels
I began taking Vytorin because Zetia alone was not helping me. No matter what I do, diet wise and exercise, cholesterol goes higher. About 2 weeks into taking the Vytorin, I developed a nagging cough and at times, the only way I can describe the next feeling, is that feeling you get when you have been in the water too long.. which I guess, could very well be shortness of breath. I walk and continue to ride my bike almost daily. I do not experience these symptoms constantly. Mostly later in the day (after lunch) abut I can still ride my bike and take my walks. 57 Female 2009-09-09 17:58:56.967
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

simvastatin  
Constipation
in the 16 days I've increased my intake of simvastatin from 20mgs to 40 mgs I have experienced significant constipation coupled with occasional loose stools. 81 Male 2009-09-08 17:02:26.093
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

Flomax (tamsulosin) .4mg 1 times
simvastatin 100mg 2 times
cilostazol 100mg 2 times
ezetimibe  
Vytorin (ezetimibe-simvastatin) 10/80mg 1 times
Ranexa (ranolazine) 500mg 2 times
Heart complications
Lack of energy/fatigue
  68 Male 2009-09-08 10:29:12.627
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

simvastatin 20mg 12 months
Vertigo (dizziness, loss of balance, feeling that the room is spinning)
High cholesterol
I have noticed bouts of vertigo that have increased over the last few months - on mentioning this to my GP, she was dismissive, and has now increased my dosage to 40mg a day. At a recent hospital appt [nephrologist] I was advised to stop taking Simvastatin for two weeks to see if the effects diminish or disappear. 61 Female 2009-08-28 05:29:17.61
Go To Full Evaluation Add Your Comment to this Review

Results 1 - 20 of 67
1 2 3 4 Next

Add a User Review 

To add a User Review fill out the fields below. A drug name is required to post. You will be asked to enter the dosage, which is listed on the bottle/container, along with units such as mg, ounces, etc; as well as how often you take the drug. When you enter a possible side effect, you will be asked about its severity. In the comment field, please describe your experiences or any comment that you will think help other users understand what they can expect from their drug treatment. We also welcome comments and suggestions about our site through feedback.

* Enter drug name- enter one drug at a time, by typing at least 3 letters of the drug name and select the appropriate drug from the list, then proceed to entering the next drug.
* Enter condition name - the "condition" is the reason you are taking the drug, which could be a disease such as "diabetes" or a symptom such as "joint aches". Enter a condition and select from the list shown, then enter the next condition if you are experiencing more than one.
   
     
 
 
 
     
* Enter side effects - these are any undesirable effects you might be experiencing from the drug(s). Enter your side effect and select from the list shown, then enter the next side effect if you are experiencing more than one. If you are not experiencing any side effects check the box below, No Side Effects.
OR

Enter comments - tell the community about your experiences and any information you may have about taking these drugs.

Age   Gender:

 
Thank you for adding your review.
 
Return to Current Page
 
To help protect against automated posting, please enter the words that appear in the box below (more info).
Words should be separated by space.

Unable to see the image? (get another image)


* Required fields

NOTE: Just because a drug or combination of drugs can cause a symptom does not mean it is actually causing your symptom. Symptoms can be caused by medical conditions as well. Make sure that your physician is aware of any symptoms you are experiencing so he/she can work with you to determine the cause. Please DO NOT STOP MEDICATIONS without first consulting a physician since doing so could be hazardous to your health.
DISCLAIMER: Please note that the information DoubleCheckMD.com provides is intended to help individuals to work with their medical professionals and is for educational purposes only. It does not constitute medical or healthcare advice and serves to supplement, not substitute for, the expertise and judgment of a healthcare professional. In all cases individuals should consult with a physician before taking any action based on DoubleCheckMD feedback including, but not limited to ceasing taking any drug, changing diet or commencing or discontinuing any course of treatment. The information provided by DoubleCheckMD.com is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, drug interactions or adverse effects, nor should it be construed to indicate that the use of a particular drug is safe, appropriate or effective.


     
 
 
     
 
 
Close CLOSE WINDOW

HOLDER
 
 
 
     
 
 
 
Close CLOSE WINDOW
HOLDER
 
 
   
 
     
 
 
     
     
 
 
     
 
My Saved Evaluations Close
 
 
  Date       Name       Delete  
  You have no saved evaluations.   
 
     
 
 
Username
Password
 
Forgot Password Log into DoubleCheckMD
 
 
 
Email Address
 
 
 
 
 
 
We'll keep Your Personal Information Private

Registration helps ensure the privacy of your personal health information. It's easy to register. Just enter a username and password. This is information you will use to login so you may want to write it down.
Username*
Password*
Password* (verify)
First Name (optional)
Last Name (optional)
Email Address (optional)
I have read and agree to abide by the DoubleCheckMD Terms of Use and DoubleCheckMD Privacy Policy.
I am a medical professional
 
Register
 
 
First name
Last name
Email Address
Comments*
 
 
 
First name
Last name
Email Address
Comments*